6 December, 2010 12:23

Seeking To Do Good

Verse of Concentration: Romans 7:19-10 NLT

I want to do what is good, but I don’t. I don’t want to do what is wrong, but I do it anyway. But if I do what I don’t want to do, I am not really the one doing wrong; it is sin living in me

that does it”.

Have you ever had a day where you tried to do good? Where you tried to stay out of mess and drama? Where your focus was going to be on God and all the negative stuff would stay away? That was going to be my day, but as life would have it, this was the day everyone wanted to “vent!” Now venting and getting stuff off your chest can be a good thing, but on this particular day, people wanted to come and vent about others. And low and behold, the person they wanted to vent about was the same person who worked my nerve! It took all my energy not to engage in the conversation, not to jump on the band wagon and add my two cents. I held firm and did not engage in the conversation. Instead…I just sat there! The funny thing is, after a few minutes of not saying anything, the conversation changed and the next thing I knew, we were talking about weekend plans! It was not easy to just say nothing, to not engage in the conversation, to not add the information I had, but I sat quietly. I vowed that I was going to do good, that my flesh would not win today!

When we press to do what is good, it seems like things just keep coming our way to challenge us. Don’t get too upset with yourself, but instead begin to look at is as God continuing to destroy the flesh (sin) and build up the Spirit! As we continue to press toward the mark, remember it is not always easy, but you will be stronger. It’s like when you first start working out, the first few days your muscles are sore and you wonder if you can make it through the work out. Each day gets a little easier and your muscles get a little stronger. Each day as you press towards the mark you get closer to your prize. Keep seeking to do good by seeking God!

Prayer Focus

Today God, help me to press through and continue to seek your face. I recognize that my flesh is weak, but I know that my spirit is strong. Help me to stretch just a little further as I reach for all that you have for me, Lord. This I ask in Jesus Name! AMEN!

This entry was posted in Daily Meditations. Bookmark the permalink.